Franklin TN Drug Possession Lawyers
Williamson County Attorneys Prepared to Defend You
Throughout the United States, the possession of controlled substances is against the law. However, each state has the autonomy to set its own rules for penalizing drug possession crimes (assuming the person does not commit a federal drug crime). In Tennessee, the law classifies drug crimes as misdemeanors or felony offenses, and a person who is convicted of drug possession may be looking at a sentence that includes jail time, a large fine, and other penalties.
If you are facing drug possession charges in Franklin or Williamson County, our drug possession lawyers can provide you with competent legal representation. You should never represent yourself in a drug possession case; the consequences are too great. Instead, call us today for legal counsel you can trust.
What Constitutes Drug Possession in Tennessee?
A person does not have to be using a controlled substance, or even have it on their person, to be convicted of a drug possession crime. In fact, you only have to have it near you, such as in your bag, or in your home or car. Tennessee Code Section 39-17-418 reads that it is an offense for a person to “knowingly possess or casually exchange a controlled substance.” This is called simple possession or casual exchange, and is the lowest drug offense in the state.
Tennessee also recognizes the crime of “Possession with Intent,” which is committed when a person possesses a controlled substance with the intent to manufacture, deliver, or sell the controlled substance. This is a more serious offense in the state.
Penalties for Drug Possession in Tennessee
For simple possession or casual exchange, the type and amount of drug is not considered; all minor simple possession and casual exchange crimes are considered to be a Class A misdemeanor offense, which is penalized by a period in jail of up to one year, a fine of up to $2,500, and the requirement to attend a drug offender school. Community service may also be required. If the defendant already has two or more convictions for this offense, the crime is raised to a Class E felony.
Possession with intent, on the other hand, is more serious. Possession with intent is a felony; the class of felony is based on the drug involved, as well as the amount of the drug involved. For example, possession with intent of a Schedule I substance is a Class B felony, whereas possession with intent of a Schedule II substance is a Class C felony. Felony charges carry longer incarceration periods and bigger fines. To be sure, a Class B felony can be penalized by a fine of up to $100,000.
Our Experienced Williamson County Drug Possession Lawyers Are Here to Help
No matter who you are, the prospect of paying a large fine or going to jail or prison is certainly not one that you’re looking forward to. And regardless of your criminal background, you deserve qualified legal representation and an experienced criminal defense lawyer on your side. At The Long Firm, LLC, we are here to help. We have the track record you’re looking for, and we care about the outcome of our clients’ cases. Call our Franklin drug possession lawyers today for a free consultation, or send us a message describing your case today using our confidential intake form.