Lawrenceburg Assault Charge Defense Lawyers
Our Aggressive Williamson County, TN Criminal Defense Attorneys Work Hard for You
Any criminal charge can be damaging for your future; indeed, even if you are not convicted, the mere mark on your arrest record can have a detrimental effect on your future opportunities. Of course, a conviction is much worse, and may result in jail time, large fines, court-ordered rehab or service, and limited opportunities, including trouble finding a job or securing housing. If you are convicted of a violent crime, such as assault, the consequences are that much more severe.
At the offices of The Long Firm, LLC, our Lawrenceburg assault attorneys have experience providing competent legal services to those who are in need of a strong defense. If you have been charged with assault, do not hesitate to contact our law offices immediately.
What Constitutes Assault in Tennessee?
Assault is defined in Tennessee Code Title 39, Chapter 13, Part 1, and reads that a person commits assault when they:
- Knowingly or intentionally cause bodily injury to another party;
- Knowingly or intentionally causes another to fear imminent bodily injury; or
- Knowingly or intentionally engage in physical contact with another party that would be perceived by a reasonable person to be “extremely offensive or provocative.”
The first two offenses above–causing bodily injury or causing fear of bodily injury–are Class A misdemeanors. The third offense–engaging in physical conduct that is offensive or provocative–is a Class B misdemeanor.
Assault will be considered a Class C felony–a much more serious charge than a misdemeanor charge–if the assault results in serious bodily injury or is committed with a deadly weapon.
Penalties for Assault Offense
Class A and Class B misdemeanors carry different penalties in the state. Class A misdemeanors are more serious, and a Class A misdemeanor assault is punishable by jail time or a fine of up to $2,500, or both. A Class B misdemeanor assault is punishable by a smaller fine and incarceration period, although if committed against a law enforcement officer, the maximum fine may increase to $5,000.
If the assault is classified as a Class C felony, the minimum penalty is three years in prison, and the maximum incarceration period is 15 years. A fine may also be assessed in an amount up to $10,000.
Defending You Against Assault Charges
It is clear that the possible consequences of an assault conviction should not be taken lightly, which is why if you are facing assault charges you should begin to build your defense immediately. While the most common defense is self defense, this may not be the only defense available to you. A skilled attorney will investigate the charges against you and help you to pursue the best defense for your case.
Call Our Lawrenceburg Assault Attorneys Today
Do not try to defend yourself against charges. When you work with a skilled Williamson County criminal defense attorney, you improve your chances of having charges against you dropped or reduced, or securing a court verdict of “innocent.” To learn more about our legal services and how we can help you, please call our law firm today, or send us a confidential message using the contact form on our website.